Colombo in Sri Lanka, financial centre, tourist destination, west coast, colonial buildings

Colombo (Sinhala: කොළඹ Kolamba, pronounced [ˈkəlɐmbɞ]; Tamil: கொழும்பு) is the commercial capital[3] and largest city of Sri Lanka. 162 According to the Brookings Institution, Colombo metropolitan area has a population of 5.6 million,[4][5][6][7][8] and 752,993[2] in the city proper. It is the financial centre of the island and a popular tourist destination. It is located on the west coast of the island and adjacent to Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte, the legislative capital of Sri Lanka. Colombo is often referred to as the capital since Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte is within the urban area of, and a satellite city of, Colombo. It is also the administrative capital of Western Province, Sri Lanka and the district capital of Colombo District. Colombo is a busy and vibrant place with a mixture of modern life and colonial buildings and ruins.[9] It was the legislative capital of Sri Lanka until 1982.
Due to its large harbour and its strategic position along the East-West sea trade routes, Colombo was known to ancient traders 2,000 years ago. It was made the capital of the island when Sri Lanka was ceded to the British Empire in 1815,[10] and its status as capital was retained when the nation became independent in 1948. In 1978, when administrative functions were moved to Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte, Colombo was designated as the commercial capital of Sri Lanka.
Like many cities, Colombo’s urban area extends well beyond the boundaries of a single local authority, encompassing other municipal and urban councils such as Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte Municipal Council, Dehiwala Mount Lavinia Municipal Council, Kolonnawa Urban Council, Kaduwela Municipal Council and Kotikawatte Mulleriyawa Pradeshiya Sabha. The main city is home to a majority of Sri Lanka’s corporate offices, restaurants and entertainment venues.[11] Famous landmarks in Colombo include Galle Face Green, Viharamahadevi Park, Beira Lake, Colombo Racecourse, Planetarium, University of Colombo, Mount Lavinia beach, Nelum Pokuna Theatre, Colombo Lotus Tower (under construction) as well as the National Museum.At least 16 people, including four children, have died after a huge rubbish dump collapsed on to their homes in Sri Lanka.
The 300ft-high (91m) pile of rotting debris had shifted after floods and a fire then collapsed on Friday.
At least 40 homes on the edge of the dump were destroyed, with four children aged between 11 and 15 killed.
There had been concerns over the safety of the site in Colombo, with residents demanding it be cleared.
The AFP news agency said about 800 tonnes of waste were added to the Meethotamulla dump every day, and that the government had planned to remove it.Emergency officials told the BBC that up to 20 people may remain buried in their houses, with the Sri Lankan army now co-ordinating the recovery.
One disaster emergency official told AFP the death toll would have been higher had many people not left their homes after the fire at the dump, hours before the collapse.
The collapse occurred as many people were marking Aluth Avurudda, or the Sinhalese New Year, a major public holiday across Sri Lanka.Beautiful places to travel to game :,
നഗരത്തിലുണ്ട്. ദ്വീപിന്റെ സാമ്പത്തിക കേന്ദ്രവും വിനോദ സഞ്ചാര കേന്ദ്രവുമാണ്. ശ്രീലങ്കയുടെ നിയമനിർമ്മാണ തലസ്ഥാനമായ ശ്രീ ജയവർധേര കോട്ട കോട്ടെയ്ക്ക് അടുത്തുള്ള ഈ ദ്വീപിന്റെ തീരത്താണ് ഈ ദ്വീപ് സ്ഥിതി ചെയ്യുന്നത്. കൊളംബോയെ നഗര തലസ്ഥാനമായ കൊളംബോയിലെ സാറ്റലൈറ്റ് നഗരമായ ശ്രീജയവർദ്ധന കോട്ടയിൽ നിന്ന് തലസ്ഥാനമായി വിശേഷിപ്പിക്കപ്പെടുന്നു. കൊളംബിയ, വെസ്റ്റേൺ പ്രവിശ്യ, ശ്രീലങ്കൻ സംസ്ഥാന തലസ്ഥാനങ്ങളുടെ ഭരണ തലസ്ഥാനമാണിത്. ആധുനിക ജീവിതം, കൊളോണിയൽ കെട്ടിടങ്ങൾ, അവശിഷ്ടങ്ങളുടെ ഒരു മിശ്രിതം കൊളംബസിലും തിരക്കേറുന്ന ഒരു സ്ഥലമാണ് കൊളംബൊ. [9] 1982 വരെ ശ്രീലങ്കയുടെ നിയമനിർമ്മാണ തലസ്ഥാനമായിരുന്നു ഇത്.
2000-ഓളം വർഷങ്ങൾക്ക് മുൻപ് കൊളംബോ അറിയപ്പെടുന്ന കിഴക്കൻ-പടിഞ്ഞാറൻ കടൽ മാർഗ്ഗം അതിന്റെ വലിയ തുറമുഖവും അതിന്റെ തന്ത്രപ്രാധാന്യവും കാരണം. 1815 ൽ ശ്രീലങ്ക ബ്രിട്ടീഷ് സാമ്രാജ്യത്തിനു കൈമാറിയപ്പോൾ ദ്വീപിന്റെ തലസ്ഥാനമാക്കി. [10] 1948 ൽ രാജ്യം സ്വാതന്ത്ര്യം പ്രാപിച്ചപ്പോൾ മൂലധനത്തിന്റെ പദവി നിലനിർത്തപ്പെട്ടു. 1978 ൽ ശ്രീ ജയവർധേപുര കോട്ടായി കൊളംബോ, ശ്രീലങ്കയുടെ വാണിജ്യ തലസ്ഥാനമായി പ്രഖ്യാപിച്ചു.
കൊളംബോയിലെ നഗരവത്ക്കരണം ഒരു തദ്ദേശഭരണസ്ഥാപനത്തി
travel, travel destination, travel advice, skyline, famous buildings, street life
nice city, tourist , toursm, beautiful, pictures, beautiful photographs, landmarks, street life, life, street, streets, aerial, famous, parks, statues, people, nice people, friendly , friendly people, amazing, train station, city hall, hotel, vacation, trees, green, technology, pituresque, wonderful, impression, happy people, photo, photo video,Youtube Red, ature, natural park,